Individually and collectively, the various Departments in the Faculty continue to contribute greatly to manpower development mandate of this University.  Specifically, we contribute to the training of MBBS and BDS (Anatomy, Biochemistry, Physiology, Pharmacology/Therapeutics, Pathology, Medical Microbiology/Parasitology, Chemical Pathology, Haematology and Virology) students; B.Sc. Biochemistry and Physiology students; B. Pharmacy (Biochemistry, Physiology, Pharmacology/Therapeutics) programmes; B.Sc. Human Nutrition (Biochemistry, Physiology) programme, B. Physiotherapy (Anatomy, Physiology) progaramme; B. Nursing (Anatomy, Physiology, Biochemistry) programme.  The Faculty also runs M.Sc, M.Phil. and Ph.D. programmes in the Departments of Biochemistry, Physiology, Anatomy, Pharmacology/Therapeutics, Chemical Pathology, Haematology and Virology.

In the area of research, it is on record that major discoveries and breakthrough research findings have emanated from works of scientists in the Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences.  It is worthy of note that many of these findings have informed and continue to inform medical practice and public health programmes in Nigeria and other parts of the world.

In line with the University goal of becoming a world-class University, the Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences has identified the following research focus:

i.  Human and cell structural biology

ii. Carcinogenesis and mutagenesis of food products and environmental toxicants in Nigeria.

iii. Medicinal properties of natural products

iv. Disorders of carbohydrate, protein and lipid metabolism, mineral metabolism, vitaminology.

v.  Reproductive endocrinology, toxicology, and immunology of Infectious and parasitic diseases

vi. Diagnosis, epidemiology, pathogenesis and pathology of diseases of medical importance in Nigeria.

vii. Diagnosis, epidemiology, pathogenesis and pathology of blood cells and hard tissue cancers in Nigeria.

viii. Haemoglobinopathies and coagulopathies

ix.  Ecology, diagnosis, epidemiology pathogenesis and pathology of viruses of medical and economic importance in Nigeria.

x.  Microbial genome sequence, analyses

xi.  Development of diagnostics drugs and vaccines.


Library and Equipment

The Faculty has an E-Library situated in the Department of Physiology, University of Ibadan. This library serves the pre-clinical students as well as members of staff in the pre-clinical departments. 

Implementation Process in the Faculty

In line with the University tradition, the Faculty operates Committee System. The standing Committees are as follows:

-          Faculty Board

-          Faculty Promotions Panel

-          Faculty Finance Sub-Committee/DTLC Sub-Committee

-          Faculty Postgraduate Committee

-          Biomedical Conference Committee

-          Faculty Curriculum Sub-Committee








To be a globally competitive Faculty for teaching and research in basic medical sciences with focus on providing scientific basis for prevention and management of human health problems in Africa primarily and the world at large.


1.     To be a research-driven, student-focused centre for learning and teaching of basic medical sciences.

2.    To contribute to national manpower development, producing graduates with adequate knowledge and skills in medical sciences and medicine 


This is coordinated by the Examinations Office, University of Ibadan in conjunction with the Academic unit of the College of Medicine, University of Ibadan.  Decisions that have to do with academic matters are handled by the Faculty Board, which makes recommendation to the Academic Board of the College.


College Central Administration/Management made up of the Provost, Deputy, Provost, Secretary to the College, Financial Controller and Deans of Faculties and Directors of Institutes. 

Library and Equipment

The Faculty has an E-Library situated in the Department of Physiology, University of Ibadan. This library serves the pre-clinical students as well as members of staff in the pre-clinical departments. 


Please find below the list of Officers and Representatives of the Faculty on the Senate/College Boards and Committees for 2012 – 2014 Academic Sessions.

B.   Faculty Representatives on Senate Boards/Committees for the 2010 – 2012 

Board/Committee                           Name                                         Department

Publications Committee                   Prof. Wuraola Shokunbi                  Haematology

Curriculum Committee                     Professor A.A. Fasanmade              Physiology

                                                     Professor J.I. Anetor                     Chemical Pathology

College A & P Committee for             Professor O. D. Olaleye                  Virology

Academic Staff                                Prof. Yetunde A. Aken’Ova             Haematology

                                                     Professor O.G. Ademowo                IMRAT

College Development Committee      Professor E.O. Agbedana               Chemical Pathology

Careers Committee                          Dr. Foluke Fasola                          Haematology

Committee on Honorary Degree       Professor O.O. Olorunsogo              Biochemistry

Board of the Institute of African      Professor A. Sowunmi                    Pharm. & Therap.


Zoo Management Committee           Dr. O.M. Bolaji                              IMRAT

University Consultancy Services      Prof. Yetunde A. Aken’Ova              Haematology

Committee on Nomination for          Professor O. O. Olorunsogo             Biochemistry

Emeritus Professor  

Faculty Board of Sciences              Dr. Y. Raji                                      Physiology

Ceremonial Committee                  Professor E.O. Agbedana                 Chemical Pathology

                                                    Dr. Elsie Adewoye                          Physiology

Scholarships & Prizes                      Prof. Wuraola A. Shokunbi              Haematology

Board of Institute for Advanced        Professor O.D. Olaleye                   Virology

Medical Research & Training


Chairman, Animal House                   Dr. O. A. Adaramoye                     Biochemistry

Chairman of Faculty Curriculum         Professor A.A. Fasanmade              Physiology


College Development Committee        Professor E.O. Agbedana               Chemical Pathology