Department of Obstetrics & Gynaecology




 Departmental Philosophy
 Administrative Officers



The Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology was one of the foundation departments of the University of Ibadan Medical School at its founding in 1948 and it moved to the University College Hospital at its completion in 1957. Since then, the Department has been active in its triple functions of training, service and research.


The Department has been a central participant in the training of medical undergraduates in Ibadan for the past fifty years. In the first 25 years of its existence, it served as a preparatory centre for trainee Obstetricians and Gynaecologists who were working towards certification by the Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologist. In the last 3 decades however, the Department has been preparing trainees for certification by the National Postgraduate Medical College of Nigeria and the West African College of Surgeons.  In 2003, the Department in collaboration with the Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, U.S.A., commenced Masters Degree programmes in Reproduction Biology and Population and Reproductive Health.


In all, more than 300 certified Obstetricians and Gynaecologists have had part or their entire specialist training in the Department. In addition, the Department runs periodic update courses for Obstetricians and Gynaecologists.


The Department, in close collaboration with the School of Midwifery, also trains midwives. The Department was the first centre for the formal training of health personnel to provide family planning services in Nigeria. In then last 42 years, about 10,000 trainees (doctors, nurses, community health workers, etc)   have been trained to provide modern contraceptive services.


For the purpose of clinical services, the Department is presently divided into 5 units and these are: - Infertility and Assisted Conception Unit, Fertility Research And Endocrinology Unit Gynaecologic Oncology Unit Feto Maternal Medicine Unit and Genitourinary/Urogynaecology Unit.

 There are presently 21 consultants in the Department ( 18 Lecturers and 2 Hospital Consultants).

The Department is the pioneer site for reproductive health research in Nigeria as evidenced by the fact that   more than 2,000 peer – reviewed articles have been published in reputable scientific journals from research activities undertaken in the Department. In recognition of its excellence, the Department was designated a collaboration centre for Research on Human Reproduction (CCR) by the World Health Organization (WHO).  It is also a research site for the , “ South- to -South cooperation in Reproductive Health” an international organization for research into reproductive health problems in developing countries and the Aids Prevention Initiative In Nigeria(APIN).

While engaged in these training and research activities, more than 200,000 women have had babies delivered in our labour ward, a sizeable population of them having been referred for life-threatening complications in pregnancy and labour  Many others have received specialist attention for various gynaecological disorders.

The Department has been fortunate to have had dedicated and energetic professionals steer its affairs since inception. Many of them have gone on to assume positions of greater responsibilities in health and education administration. A list of all the Heads of Department since its inception includes:


Headship of the Department

1.    Professor J. B. Lawson                               1952-1969

2.    Professor J. P. de V Hendrickse                   1969-1972

3.    Professor O. A. Ojo                                    1972-1975

4.    Professor P. P. S. Nylander                         1975-1978

5.    Professor Vincent E. Aimakhu                      1978-1981

6.    Professor Babatunde Adelusi                        1981-1985

7.    Professor Oladapo A. Ladipo                       1985-1988

8.    Professor J. Adetunji Adeleye                       1988-1990

9.    Professor Bamidele O. Osinusi                      Jan 1991-June 1991

10.Professor Oladosu A. Ojengbede                  1991-1993

11.Professor Kolawole  A. Obisesan                             1993-1995

12.Professor Adeyemi  O. Adekunle                   1995-1997

13.Professor Akinyinka  O. Omigbodun               1997 -1999 

14.Professor Issac F. Adewole                         1999-2001

15.Professor Abiodun O. Ilesanmi                     2001-2003

16.Professor Oladosu A. Ojengbede                  2003-2006

17.Professor Adeyemi O. Adekunle                   2006 – 2009

18.Professor Issac F. Adewole                         2009-2011

19.Professor A.O.Arowojolu                             2011- to date






 FORM                                                                                                                     PROGRAM DETAILS                                                            

Title of programmes in the Department




3. Master of Health Science (MHS).





Name of Faculty/College

Faculty of Clinical Science, College of Medicine University of Ibadan.


Name of Department

Obstetrics and Gynaecology

Date of Establishment of Department


Name and qualification of  the Provost

Prof. O.O. Akinyinka

M.B;B.S(Ib), PhD(Southampton UK), FMC Paed (Nig.), FRCPCH (UK), Dcp HSM (Israel), MNIM

Name and qualification of  the Dean

Prof. I.A. Ajaiyeoba

MB;BS (Ib), M.Sc. (Lond), FWACS, FMCOpth, FICS, Cert Paed. Ophth.

Name and qualification of  the Head of Department

Prof. A.O Arowojolu

M.B.,B.S. (Ib), D.A, F.M.C.O.G., F.W.A.C.S., M.F.F.P., F.R.C.O.G.