Department of Anaesthesia


Dr. Olayinka R. EYELADE
MBBS (Ibadan), M.Sc (Bioethics); FWACS
Ag. Head of Department


The Department of Anaesthesia, University of Ibadan is located on the 2nd floor of the Prof. O. O. Akinkugbe’s building, formerly Clinical Sciences building. It was part of the Department of Surgery until it became a full independent department in 1966. Prof S. A. Oduntan was the first Head of Department while the current Acting Head of Department is Dr. O. R. Eyelade.

In order to achieve our goal of producing high quality medical professionals, the Department of Anaesthesia provides anaesthetic, pain relief, palliative care, intensive care and cardiopulmonary resuscitation/emergency medical maneuvers and airway management training for the University College Hospital (UCH), Ibadan as well as Continued Medical Education (CME) for the College of Medicine, University of Ibadan, Nigeria.

Teaching of both undergraduate and postgraduate students go hands in hand with the service load while several clinical and laboratory research projects are implemented. Currently, the Department comprises of 7 academic/honorary consultant staff, 5 hospital consultants, 20 Senior Registrars, 13 Junior Residents and 1 Senior Medical Officer. The residents are at various stages of the postgraduate Diploma and Fellowship training programme in anaesthesia. In addition, several doctors from other institutions rotate through the department for clinical exposure to neuro- and cardiothoracic anaesthesia and intensive care. It is gratifying to note that this institution has trained the largest number of anaesthetists in West Africa and some of the Alumni have attained the status of professors and heads of Departments. The Department of Anaesthesia hosts the annual April and October West African College of Surgeons’ Fellowship Examination in Anaesthesia.


Residency Training

MSc and MD in Anaesthesia

Academic Staff

Dr Arinola A. Sanusi

Dr Olayinka R. Eyelade

Dr Babatunde B. Osinaike

Dr Tinuola A. Adigun

Dr Mukaila O. Akinwale

Dr Olusola K. Idowu

Dr Mathias O. Orji

Non-Academic Staff

Mrs Helen O. Omolawal

Mrs Victoria O. Adeolu

Mrs Ruth B. Aluko

Mr Sunday O. Olasugba

Mrs Abraham A. Adeleke


Critical Care

Pain Management

Clinical Anaesthesia


Department of Anaesthesia

Room 2 - 33

2nd Floor

Prof. Akinkugbe Building (Former Clinical Science Building)

College of Medicine

University of Ibadan

 Staff List

                Dr. Olayinka R. Eyelade

                  Dr. Babatunde B. OSINAIKE

                  Dr. Arinola A. SANUSI

                  Dr. Olusola K. IDOWU

                  Dr. Mathias O. ORJI

                  Dr. Oluranti A. AKINYEMI

                  Dr. Tinuola A. ADIGUN

                  Dr. Mukaila O. AKINWALE

Social Links

Get In Touch