Institute of Child Health

  • Home
  • Institute of Child Health



Professor Olukemi K. AMODU

Institute of Child Health

The Institute of Child Health was established in 1961 from part of a grant given to the Federal Government of Nigerian by the United African Company (UAC) at independence.  The aim of the Federal Government then was to establish centers in different parts of the country for the specific purpose of reducing the high incidence of morbidity and mortality among children in Nigeria. The Federal Ministry of Health and the Federal Ministry of Education (through the National

Universities Commission (NUC)) are jointly responsible for the upkeep of the Institute.  The board of the institute is currently composed of the:

  • Provost, College of Medicine, Dean, Faculty of Clinical Sciences,
  • Dean, Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences;
  • Chief Medical Director, University College Hospital, Ibadan;
  • Director, Institute of Child Health; the Head, Department of Paediatrics; Head, Department of Community Medicine;
  • Representatives of the Federal Ministry of Health Representatives of the Oyo State Ministry of Health, and Secretary to the College of Medicine

Social Links

Get In Touch